Districts of Nepal


WidgetBucks - Trend Watch - WidgetBucks.com

Arghakhanchi District, a part of Lumbini Zone, is one of the seventy-five districts of Nepal. The district, with Sandhikharka as its district headquarters, covers an area of 1,193 km² and has a population (2001) of 208,391. It was initially two separate kingdoms Argha and Khanchi until Bahadur Shah in 1786CE (1843 BS) annexed both of these principalities under his unification campaign of Chaubisi Rajya.]

Sandhikharka is located in a remote area of central Nepal, surrounded by pine forests. It is located 300 kilometres (186 mi) southwest of Nepal's capital of Kathmandu. One road along a ravine connects the town to the rest of the world.

The purpose of Village Development Committees is to organise village people structually at a local level and creating a partnership between the community and the public sector for improved service delivery system. A VDC has a status as an autonomous institution and authority for interacting with the more centralised institutions of governance in Nepal. In doing so, the VDC gives village people an element of control and responsibility in development, and also ensures proper utilization and distribution of state funds and a greater interaction between government officials, NGOs and agencies. The village development committees within a given area will discuss education, water supply, basic health, sanitation and income and will also monitor and record progress which is displayed in census data.

In VDCs there is one elected chief, usually elected with over an 80% majority. From each ward, there is also a chief that is elected along with these there are also four members elected or nominated.


Back to district Home
Sponsor :- New Pokhara Lodge, lakeside pokhara
Contact for comment,suggestion and advertisement